Wizards Make Vegas Official for Summer 2013

Posted on May 29, 2013 by Jeremy Hyman

Jeremy Hyman | WashingtonWizards.com

Today, the Wizards made it official that they will once again be taking part in the NBA Summer League in Las Vegas.  They are one of four teams to have participated in every NBA Summer League in Las Vegas since the league’s inception in 2004.

The structure of this year's Summer League is a little different than years past as they will now be holding a single elimination tournament for the second half of the week.  After each team plays three scheduled games between July 12-16, they will then be seeded for the single-elimination tournament.  Because each team is guaranteed to play a minimum of five games, my guess would be the teams that lose in the first round would play each other before departing Las Vegas.  One team will then be crowned champions of Summer League on July 22nd.

Joining the Wizards in Las Vegas will be the Atlanta Hawks, Charlotte Bobcats, Chicago Bulls, Cleveland Cavaliers, Dallas Mavericks, Denver Nuggets, Golden State Warriors, Los Angeles Clippers, Los Angeles Lakers, Memphis Grizzlies, Miami Heat, Milwaukee Bucks, Minnesota Timberwolves, New Orleans Pelicans, New York Knicks, Phoenix Suns, Portland Trail Blazers, Sacramento Kings, San Antonio Spurs, Toronto Raptors, as well as a team of NBA D-League Select players.

The actual schedule and roster probably won't come out for another month, so stay tuned for more updates as they come.

Read Wizards Summer League Press Release  

Posted in: Sports
next up:

Martell Webster Year in Review

May 28, 2013

A look back at Martell Webster's career year.

Top 10 Wall Highlights


Jeremy Hyman on Twitter

Wizards Shows & Video